Text Size

Corn Farmers Encouraged to Run for Indiana Corn Checkoff Board

For Immediate Release April 13, 2017

Indiana corn farmers with an interest in building stronger markets for their corn while strengthening their leadership skills are encouraged to run for a seat on the state corn checkoff board of directors.

The Indiana Corn Marketing Council manages state corn checkoff investments with the goal of supporting and growing Indiana's corn industry. Five seats on ICMC's board of directors are up for election in 2017.

David Gottbrath, ICMC president and a farmer from Pekin, Ind., says serving on the corn checkoff board gives Indiana corn farmers an opportunity to take an active role in Indiana's corn industry while making decisions about the investment of checkoff funds.

"We're looking for Indiana corn farmers who care about the future of agriculture to step into these leadership positions," said Gottbrath. "There is a new generation of farmers, and we want to involve them in ICMC's work so the organization remains effective and aware of the needs of Indiana's corn growers."

Board members are involved in determining the promotional, educational and research activities funded by the corn checkoff. ICMC's strategic plan focuses on market development, production research and farmer services. Current priorities include ethanol, transportation infrastructure, production research, livestock promotion and international exports.

To run for an ICMC director seat, Indiana corn farmers must be a registered Indiana voter, be at least 18 years of age, and reside in the appropriate district. All farmers who submit a valid petition by June 30, 2017 will be listed as a candidate on the election ballot. Voting takes place at Purdue Cooperative Extension Service county offices in August 2017.

This year, ICMC has seats open in Districts 3, 6, and 9. There are also two open At-Large seats.
District 3: The counties of LaGrange, Steuben, Noble, DeKalb, Whitley, Allen, Huntington, Wells and Adams.
District 6: The counties of Blackford, Jay, Delaware, Henry, Randolph, Wayne, Fayette and Union.
District 9. The counties of Franklin, Jennings, Jefferson, Ripley, Dearborn, Ohio, Clark, Switzerland and Scott.

The two open At-Large seats represent the entire state of Indiana.

Farmers interested in running for a director position should submit a petition to the ICMC office before June 30, 2017. Farmers can receive a petition by downloading the forms at www.incorn.org/elections or by calling Chris Weldon at the ICMC office at 1-800-735-0195. Forms are also available at all Purdue County Extension offices.

Newly elected directors will begin a three-year term October 1, 2017. ICMC directors can serve three consecutive full terms or a total of nine consecutive years.

For more information about Indiana Corn Marketing Council, visit www.incorn.org.


Contact: Megan Kuhn, 317-614-0377, mkuhn@indianacorn.org

The Indiana Corn Marketing Council was established by the Indiana General Assembly to promote the interest of corn growers in the state and manage corn checkoff funds. The Council is composed of 17 voting farmer directors and seven appointed industry, and government representatives.

This communication was funded with corn checkoff dollars.